Day 8. I think.

April 21, 2011

 
I’ll be in Florida, will this be a sunset or a sunrise? Inquiring minds…

I didn’t do myself any favors by starting on day negative two (because I started two days before I started detox). Math isn’t my strong suit under the best of circumstances. I suppose it goes without saying – I mean, my blog logo is a human hand on fire – these are not the best of times. But I’m pretty sure we’re at day eight.

I head for parts unknown tomorrow. Probably. There’s still a few parts of the plan that need to fall into place, but at the latest I should be settled into a inpatient rehab facility by Sunday. I’m as excited as one could be, I guess, about where I’m going, mainly because I know the clinical director and she’s one of the smartest people I’ve ever met. Smart enough to tell me a thing or two. Which is saying something, because “teachable” is not historically one of the ways people would describe me. Now that I think about it, I don’t think many people in my position are teachable, because to be in my position, you have to have ignored a whole bunch of good advice along the way.

I'd better touch it. Just in case it's awesome.

I’ve had a meltdown or two over the past few days as it’s dawned on me that I’m going to be away from my kids for a while. Apparently I’m a big baby. I always seem to have my moments when I’m reading to them. Dr. Seuss loses a little of his whimsy when Daddy’s crying while he reads it. What can I say, I’m half Italian: my feelings are most definitely on my sleeve.

Posting may be a bit erratic over the next few days as I get settled in, but I’ll post something every day. How can we preach one day at a time here at Soul Worn Thin if I leave you, my loyal readers (all six of you), with a day missing. We never know when you’ll need us most. As I noted in my first post: most of us are just a little nudge from oblivion in one direction and doing the next right thing in the other.

Leave a Reply

